Bird Deaths Noted in Past 24 Years

Discussion in 'Design, Development and Standards Discussions' started by Jay Panozzo, Jan 20, 2008.

1. Jay Panozzo

Jay Panozzo Friend of the Community

Simply put, in 24 years of working towers I have seen maybe 8 dead birds due to a collision with guy wires or towers.

In the same 24 years I have hit maybe 50 while driving, seen maybe 10 hit my windows at home and have seen hundreds in our farm kittens' mouths as well as the thousands I have seen dead on the road.

It is also important to note that I have seen hundreds of nests on top of towers, hundreds of Parakeets in the Chicago land area that nest whole families in their cool apartment nests and even a few eagles on towers.

I know the intent is to eliminate how birds are effected by radio towers, it is my professional opinion that the towers have done the birds more good than bad. Of course, I am a tower professional, so that would be the expected response according to a non tower-pro.