Is your Tower Contractor properly insured????

Discussion in 'Managing Projects and Business Issues' started by Clifford Bryan, Apr 3, 2008.

1. Clifford Bryan

Clifford Bryan Industry Observer

I'm no insurance professional, but I know my company pays a fortune every year to maintain the level of General Liability insurance and Workman's compensation insurance that every one of our customers REQUIRE, and for good reason.

So why is it that I continue to see many other subcontractors doing tower and line and antenna installations for our fortune 500 customers without workman's compensation at all? How can these companies ignore the risk of allowing their primary contractors to hire subs without it? It boggles my mind that the Insurance companies that insure the assets of these large player's don't take steps to verify that all of their master agreements are being met by their general contractors.

I get several calls every month from subcontractors looking to do work for us, most of whom I KNOW have done, and continue to do work for the same customers I speak of. But when I ask for a certificate of insurance before I can send any work their way, suddenly they either stop calling, or send over a certificate that simply does not fulfill the insurance requirements of our customers.

I've spoken with several individuals working as "independent contractors" doing LNA work, and they justify the fact that they are not covered under workman's comp by claiming that "the state does not require an independent contractor to have workman's comp" which may be true. However, EVERY ONE of the customers you are working for REQUIRES IT in their master service or subcontractor agreements!!!!!

I don't mind competition at all, and if there are going to be 500 tower companies within 50 miles of me, I don't mind. But when are we all going to start competing on a level playing field?
  2. Mike Brant

Mike Brant Guest