Keep molds dry

Discussion in 'Electrical/Telco/Grounding' started by Wireless Estimator, Feb 1, 2008.

1. Wireless Estimator

Wireless Estimator Administrator Staff Member

It is advisable to heat up your mold with a propane torch prior to igniting your first weld. If the mold has retained any moisture there is a possibility that it can explode, severely injuring the user. Never use the mold outdoors when there is inclement weather.
  2. Luke Tirrell

Luke Tirrell Friend of the Community

Actually, the mold can be used outdoors as long as it is heated first. After that the heat from each ignition will dry any moisture that may have been absorbed. Also the mold doesn't "explode". When there is a great amount of moisture in the graphite, the moisture turns into steam which will escape any way possible, usually through the lid. I am a factory trained expert in Exothermic welding and have been using Cadweld and teaching about it for about 10 years now. If you need any help or info e-mail me.
  3. Tim Kearns

Tim Kearns Guest