Lease Buy Outs...

Discussion in 'Design, Development and Standards Discussions' started by Douglas Kramer, Feb 24, 2008.

1. Douglas Kramer

Douglas Kramer Friend of the Community

I realize that this subject is not what this site is all about, however it is related to towers, and therefore may be helpful to the tower owner who has been approached by companies wanting to buy out an existing owner`s leases for "cash up front" instead of monthly payments. Offers from large tower companies have promised from 100 to 120 times monthly payments in exchange for ownership of leases in perpetuity...any thoughts on whether or not this would be the way to go...are your typical 180-220 ft cell towers going to be around for the foreseeable future? I realize each site is different and there are many factors to consider...but overall....??? Thanks in advance for your kind reply!
  2. Bob Hardee1

Bob Hardee1 Guest

Doug,

I was a site ac manager for a large tower company as well as a site ac rep earlier in my career. We were offering around the amounts you state for purchase of the sites outright, or a perpetual easement.

If a company has the cash, it does make sense for the company to buy out a lease. There are several reasons it makes sense, especially for shorter term leases. It prevents a new owner from holding the tower company hostage for renewal at the end of the lease.

At the expiration of the lease, if provisions for extensions are not agreed upon, the tower owner is then at the mercy of the lessor as to value of the site. The company may then have only two choices. Pay a much higher than market price to stay, or try to find another site and go through the expense of dismantling and moving a tower.

Due to highly restrictive zoning codes, it is usually impossible to find a suitable replacement site in the geographic area necessary to service the system.