Polygonal Tubular members

Discussion in 'Design, Development and Standards Discussions' started by david cohen, Jun 7, 2008.

1. david cohen

david cohen Friend of the Community

I'm a structural engineer, and I was wondering if anybody knows about the real advantages that the polygonal sections has on the circular section (on monopoles), the difference of cost by manufacturing polygonal section is cheaper than circular sections .
    According to the TIA-222 F (in rev G they omitted the 4-8 table) the rounds sections are really stronger than polygonal , so that is almost equivalent regarding the two reasons (cost and strength).
    Do you have any other reasons to choose polygonal sections instead of round ones ?
    Thanks
  2. Bob Hardee

Bob Hardee Friend of the Community

David,

I'm not a structural engineer, but having worked with them in the industry, especially in Florida, it seems to me that another big advantage the round sections have is less wind resistance than anything with any part having a flat face to the wind.

Bob Hardee
  3. Mike  Plahovinsak

Mike Plahovinsak Friend of the Community

Round sections have their advantages to certain heights and special applications, however, when you require fabricating a heavy duty pole, it is cost effective to design a tapered, polygon-type pole.

Straight, pipe-section poles tend to waste steel near the top where stresses are low, and the additional cost of fabricating flange connections usually drive costs up.
  4. Chas  Wagner

Chas Wagner Industry Observer

David,
    It looks like you've had some time to consider your options since your post and the other replies. If you are still up in the air, consider future loading cases as a factor also. As you know, the dynamics of the bolted connection on a step taper pole will be a challenge to overcome when reinforcement comes into the picture.