Three birds noted in 38 years of avian observation

Discussion in 'Design, Development and Standards Discussions' started by dave firis, Dec 31, 2008.

1. dave firis

dave firis Friend of the Community

I wish to state that during the 38 years that I have been a radio hobbyist and professional I have never seen more than 2 or 3 bird carcasses in the vicinity of radio towers. I have been a tower owner for 24 years and have owned / operated more than 3700' of radio towers ranging from 56' to 396' in height, some of which are lit. All the lit towers are with an incandescent red system and painted in bands of red and white. These are guyed type towers and are located in Northern Ohio and West Pennsylvannia. Many were built in the early 1960s.

If bird collisions were any real or sizeable concern, I would think that there would be piles of dead birds under the guy systems at these sites. THIS IS NOT THE CASE. As I mentioned earlier, I've seen a TOTAL of 2-3 dead birds at tower sites in my entire life.

I'd also like to comment on the neatest thing I've ever seen at a tower site, because it has some relevance here: In 1990 just after construction of a 396' tower Wadsworth, Ohio, I chanced to be at the site at dusk. There were 2 bats flying around the sets of guys as if they were a solid wall. Never once during the 1/2 hour or so that I watched, did either bat fly between the guys even though the spacing (vertical) was around 40? at the tower (10 sets of guy on 2 sets of anchors). They perceived the guy system as 3 solid walls and would typically skim a few feet either side of the (imaginary) "wall", make a 30 degree turn at the tower and then skim the adjacent "wall".