CWA urges industry to contact North Carolina Senate Commerce CommitteeCarolinas Wireless Group
June 4, 2007 - The Carolinas Wireless Association is urging its members and other wireless communications professionals to support the North Carolina wireless facilities bill, S.831 .

The bill currently remains pending before the Senate Commerce Committee and is expected to be voted on this week, and committee members need to hear from industry members about the importance of the bill.

The association is requesting that interested parties should email or call as many committee member offices as they can to urge their support of the bill.

It is suggested that you:

Identify yourself and your interest in the bill.

Identify the bill by number (S.831 ) and topic (wireless telecommunications facilities).

Emphasize that the bill is important to the wireless communications industry because it will help bring consistency to the local review process.

Emphasize that, contrary to misinformation being spread by opponents, the bill does nothing to disturb a local government's traditional zoning and land use authority or safety rules.

Feel free to share any specific examples you have were local government processes have impeded wireless/tower deployment.

The telecommunications industry is trying to reduce the amount of information that wireless infrastructure builders have to provide in order to shorten the application process for cell towers. They would like to see the zoning boards evaluate their applications for wireless coverage in the same manner as other commercial endeavors, according to Brian Hurley, the chairman of the CWA.

Organizations Against S.831 include:
• N.C. League of Municipalities
• N.C. Association of County Commissioners
• N.C. Chapter of the American Planning Association
• N.C. Downtown Development Association
• N.C. Public Interest Research Group
• Preservation North Carolina
• Scenic North Carolina

Senate Commerce Committee Contact List

Party

Member

Counties Represented

Phone
(919 Area Code)

E-Mail

Dem

R. C. Soles, Jr.   (Chair)

Brunswick, Columbus, Pender

733-5963

Rcsoles@ncleg.net

Dem

David W. Hoyle   (Vice Chair & bill sponsor)

Gaston

733-5734

Davidh@ncleg.net

Dem

Tony Rand

(Vice Chair)

Bladen, Cumberland

733-9892

Tonyr@ncleg.net

Rep

Tom Apodaca

Buncombe, Henderson, Polk

733-5745

Toma@ncleg.net

Dem

Doug Berger

Franklin, Granville, Vance, Warren

715-8363

Dougb@ncleg.net

Rep

Phil Berger

Guilford, Rockingham

733-5708

philbe@ncleg.net

Rep

Harris Blake

Harnett, Moore

733-4809

Harrisb@ncleg.net

Dem

Julia Boseman

New Hanover

715-2525

Juliab@ncleg.net

Dem

Walter H. Dalton

Cleveland, Rutherford

715-3038

Walterd@ncleg.net

Dem

Katie G. Dorsett

Guilford

715-3042

Katied@ncleg.net

Dem

Tony Foriest

Alamance, Caswell

301-1446

Tonyf@ncleg.net

Rep

James Forrester

Gaston, Iredell, Lincoln

715-3050

Jamesf@ncleg.net

Dem

Linda Garrou

Forsyth

733-5620

Lindag@ncleg.net

Rep

W. Edward (Eddie) Goodall

Mecklenburg, Union

733-7659

Eddieg@ncleg.net

Dem

Steve Goss

Alexander, Ashe, Watauga, Wilkes

733-5742

Steveg@ncleg.net

Dem

Malcolm Graham

Mecklenburg

733-5650

Malcolmg@ncleg.net

Dem

Kay R. Hagan

Guilford

733-5856

Kayh@ncleg.net

Rep

Neal Hunt

Wake

733-5850

Nealh@ncleg.net

Rep

Jim Jacumin

Burke, Caldwell

715-7823

Jimja@ncleg.net

Dem

John H. Kerr III

Greene, Pitt, Wayne

733-5621

Johnk@ncleg.net

Dem

Vernon Malone

Wake

733-5880

Vernonm@ncleg.net

Dem

Floyd McKissick

Durham

733-4599

Floydm@ncleg.net

Dem

Martin L. Nesbitt, Jr.

Buncombe

715-3001

martinn@ncleg.net

Rep

Robert Pittenger

Mecklenburg

733-5655

Robertp@ncleg.net

Dem

William R. Purcell

Anson, Richmond, Scotland, Stanly

733-5953

Williamp@ncleg.net

Dem

Larry Shaw

Cumberland

733-9349

Larrys@ncleg.net

Rep

Richard Stevens

Wake

733-5653

Richards@ncleg.net

 

 

 
   
     
Anritsu