Simon and DeBroux will chair new FCC broadband deployment working groups

In Daily News Briefs by Wireless Estimator

FCC Chairman Ajit Pai has appointed members to serve on two Broadband Deployment Advisory Committee (BDAC) working groups. The Competitive Access to Broadband Infrastructure Working Group will be chaired by Ken Simon, Senior Vice President and General Counsel of Crown Castle, and Removing State and Local Regulatory Barriers Working Group’s chairman is Robert DeBroux, Director, Public Policy and Federal Regulatory Affairs, TDS Telecom.

Ken Simon (left) and Robert DeBroux will chair the two FCC workings groups

Ken Simon (left) and Robert DeBroux will chair the two FCC workings groups

The members of these working groups are listed below.  The selection of members for the Streamlining Federal Siting working group is in progress, and final selections for this group will be announced at a later date.

The BDAC is organized under, and operates in accordance with, the provisions of the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA). The BDAC’s mission is to provide advice and recommendations to the Commission on how to accelerate the deployment of high-speed Internet access. The BDAC held its first meeting on Friday, April 21, 2017.


 * indicates a member of the Broadband Deployment Advisory Committee

Competitive Access to Broadband Infrastructure Working Group


Ken Simon, Senior Vice President and General Counsel*

Crown Castle


Brent Skorup, Research Fellow, Technology Policy Program*

Mercatus Center, George Mason University 


Allen Bell, DOT, Joint Use and Franchise Manager, Georgia Power Company*

Southern Company 

Chris Bondurant, Assistant Vice President, Construction and Engineering Operations*

AT&T Mobile 

Rosa Mendoza Davila, Executive Director

Hispanic Technology and Telecommunications Partnership 

Aaron Deacon, Managing Director

KC Digital Drive 

David Don, Vice President, Regulatory Policy*


The Honorable Daniel Friesen, Mayor

City of Buhler, Kansas 

Bruce Holdridge, General Manager

Gila River Telecommunications, Inc. 

Kirk Jamieson, Senior Vice President of Government Relations


Ross Lieberman, Senior Vice President of Government Affairs

American Cable Association 

Geoffrey Manne, Executive Director*

International Center for Law and Economics

Jim Matheson, Chief Executive Officer*

National Rural Electric Cooperative Association

Cindy McCarty, Senior Staff Attorney

East Kentucky Network LLC, d/b/a Appalachian Wireless 

Milo Medin, Vice President, Access Services*

Google Fiber 

Paul Mitchell, Senior Director, Technology Policy


Lyle Nyffeler, Vice President & General Manager Sprint Customer Team

Samsung Electronics America, Networks Division 

Christine O’Connor, Executive Director

Alaska Telephone Association

The Honorable Karen Charles Peterson, Commissioner*

Massachusetts Department of Telecommunications and Cable

National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners 

Mike Saperstein, Vice President, Federal Regulatory

Frontier Communications 

Grant Seiffert, Board Director

Connected Nation 

Lee Seydel, Chief Technology Officer

FiberUtilities Group 

Dr. Nicol Turner-Lee, Fellow, Center for Technology Innovation, Governance Studies

Brookings Institution

George Wyatt, Jr., President & Chief Executive, Palmetto Engineering and Consulting, LLC

Association of Communication Engineers

Christopher Yoo, Professor, University of Pennsylvania*

Removing State and Local Regulatory Barriers Working Group


Robert DeBroux, Director, Public Policy and Federal Regulatory Affairs*

TDS Telecom


Kim Keenan, President and Chief Executive Officer*

Multicultural Media, Telecom and Internet Council 


Christianna Barnhart, Vice President, Government Affairs


Elizabeth Bowles, President and Chairman of the Board*


Randy Brogle, Vice President, Dark Fiber


Kyle Burgess, Executive Director

Consumers’ Research

Rick Cimerman, Vice President, External and State Affairs

NCTA—The Internet and Television Association

Bill Esbeck, Executive Director

Wisconsin State Telecommunications Association

Valerie Fast Horse, Information Technology Director*

Coeur d’Alene Tribe

Dr. George Ford, Chief Economist

The Phoenix Center for Advanced Legal and Economic Public Policy Studies

Marc Ganzi, Chief Executive Officer, Digital Bridge Holdings LLC*

ExteNet Systems

Carlos Gutierrez, Deputy Director, Legal and Policy Affairs*

LGBT Technology Partnership & Institute

Michael Hain, General Manager and Chief Technology Officer*

Nittany Media 

Marc Hudson, Chief Executive Officer*

Rocket Fiber

Mark Johnson, Chief Technology Strategist, MCNC

The Quilt

Virginia Lam Abrams, Senior Vice President of Communications & Government Relations


The Honorable Sam Liccardo, Mayor*

City of San Jose, California 

Danna MacKenzie, Executive Director

Minnesota Office of Broadband Development

Rebecca Murphy Thompson, Executive Vice President and General Counsel

Competitive Carriers Association

Kevin Pagan, City Attorney

City of McAllen, Texas

Mark Radabaugh, Member, Board of Directors

Wireless Internet Service Providers Association

Michael Santorelli, Director, Advanced Communications Law & Policy Institute, New York Law School

Dr. John Saw, Chief Technology Officer*


Berin Szoka, President


Sanjay Udani, Vice President, Technology Policy